Each program, division, and squad has a list of participants. The list increases as people register and are placed in the location associated with the registration form.
You can also update the list by moving, adding, and removing participants.
Moving participants actually does two things: removes them from their current location; and adds them to the new location.
Adding participants to a list does not remove them from their current location.
Both methods will successfully build a list of participants on a program, division, or squad. The difference is what happens to any list where the participants were originally.
- If you do not want to have them remain on their original list, use Move. The typical uses are:
- When you have a pool of participants to distribute into rosters. As you place them, you don't want them in the pool of unassigned participants any longer.
- When you need to change the squad to which a participant has been assigned. Or in other words, when you re-roster them.
- If you do want them to remain on their original list, use Add. The typical use is when a participant is part of multiple rosters. You would move them onto their first squad, but then use Add on the other squads.
- If they are not in a list, or not in the current program, use Add. Here is an additional article about moving participants between programs: Moving participants between programs.
