Most user accounts get created by the users themselves, or by other users who create them as linked users to a participant during registration.
As an administrator, you can also add linked users to participant profiles. But as an administrator, there are other ways you can also create new user accounts.
Security Menu
Go to Users in the Security menu. You can add a new user from there.
Like adding a new user as a linked user from the participant profile, they will be in Draft status, which means they will not receive communication.
Unlike adding them as a linked user, they will not automatically receive an invitation to create their account.
The main use for adding a user in the Security menu is to allow you to assign them to their roles. You can assign them organizational roles directly in the Users page. You can assign them to elevated roles for programs, divisions, and squads on the Users page or on the detail pages for each place they should be assigned.
Manual Registration
As an administrator, when you manually register a participant, you specify the user on whose behalf you are doing the registration, and whose payment method you will use.
If you choose an existing user, the system presents you with a list of their linked participants.
You can also choose to create a new user for the registration. Choosing this option allows you to include their name and email address, makes them a Linked User for any participants you manually register, and sends them the same invitation all Linked Users without an active account receive.
They also receive a registration confirmation as if they had completed the registration themselves. Because they are created in Draft status, however, they will not receive any other communication until they accept their invitation and create an account.
Create Account
Although users receive invitations to create an account, there is nothing special about the link in the email which they can follow.
They can simply go to your Welcome page and press the Create Account button in the upper right. As long as they create the account using the same email whoever added them used, they will be linked properly. Behind the scenes, their user account switches from Draft to Active.
So, if someone contacts you about creating their account because they lost their invitation, you do not need to resend anything to them.
Also, since adding someone directly on the Users page does not send an invitation, you will need to direct whoever you add there to your Welcome page and the Create Account button.
