SquadFusion prevents a user from adding a participant with the same first name and last name of a participant to whom they are already linked.
However, duplicate profiles can still end up in your system. It could be due to signing in with a different email address, from a second parent registering their child because the first parent chose not to link them, or various other reasons.
When you merge them, follow these steps:
- Decide which of the profiles you want to keep going forward. We'll refer to that as the preferred profile.
- For the extra profile(s), you may want to put something like " - Duplicate" after their first name in order to distinguish from the one you are keeping.
- Remove all the linked users from the non-preferred profile(s). If any linked users from the non-preferred profile are not listed on the preferred profile, add them. This ensures whoever is linked to the participant sees only the preferred profile moving forward.
- If the non-preferred profile(s) have roster listings, click into those links and replace the non-preferred profile with the preferred profile. (This is the main reason to change the name of the non-preferred profile.)
- If you do not care about any of the registration history for the non-preferred profile, you can click on any links in the registration history section and remove the participant from those registrations. Once you have removed the participant from all registrations, the participant will be removed altogether from the system.
Note for the last step, you cannot fully remove a participant if they have any non-refunded payments. See Deleting participants for more information.
However, if you follow the steps above, you don't really need to delete them. Because there are no users linked to their profiles, there will never be any communication sent for that participant. And because they will no longer be on any rosters, they will not show up in any reports, schedules, etc. based on squad, division or program.
